<?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8"?><rss version="2.0">
<channel>
<title>friends</title>
<link>http://www.bizcovering.com/tags/friends</link>
<description>New posts about friends</description>
<item>
<title>Math in Advertising</title>
<link>http://www.bizcovering.com/Marketing-and-Advertising/Math-in-Advertising.356537</link>
<description>
<![CDATA[<p><img src="http://i292.photobucket.com/albums/mm15/chemistryal/Picture2.png" alt="" /><a href="http://www.patek.com/patek-philippe.html?pageId=8021&amp;amp;backgroundId=4&amp;amp;lang=en&amp;amp;" target="_blank"></a></p>
<p>&amp;nbsp;&amp;nbsp;&amp;nbsp; The creators of this Patek Philippe ad, most likely had it placed in the magazine, which it came from, using targeted advertising. The presumed certain givens about their potential consumers, and then found literature they assumed their potential customers were likely to come across. The givens, which the creators of this Patek Philippe ad assumed, are varied. While some are debatable, others are obvious. None seemed to be surprising or disturbing. The givens are the assumptions of the manufacturer, about the ad's reader. In this case they assume the reader is a rich male with a son, or some close person of the sort, and with no meaningful preexisting family heirloom to pass on to them. I derived four logical statements. The purchase conditional is: if you buy a Patek Philippe, you will get not just a watch but a family legacy that will be passed down to future generations. This is true because this watch is an ideal candidate for a family heirloom, seeing as it lasts a very long time and is hard to ruin. As long as your bloodline after you feels the same way, your new legacy will live on. The converse is that: if you want to have a family legacy to pass down, you should buy a Patek Philippe. This is true only if you can afford a Patek Philippe watch and want a family legacy item. The inverse is that: if you do not buy a Patek Philppe, you will not have a family legacy to pass down. This is true if you did not have a family legacy item to start off with. The contrapositive is that: if you don't have a family legacy to pass down, you did not buy a Patek Philippe. This is always true because if you had bought a Patek Philippe you would have a family legacy to pass down. All four logical statements are true as long as the givens are true.</p>
<p>The chain of logic, therefore, is:&amp;nbsp; If you buy a Patek Philippe, you will have an heirloom to pass down to future generations of your family.&amp;nbsp; If future generations get an heirloom from you, you will have established a family tradition and you will always be remembered. To me as a consumer, this type of analysis is useful because it allows me too see the product in a way that allows me to understand what I would actually gain from buying the product, instead of in a way based on conclusions I instantly jump to, or based on what the producer and marketer of the product would like me to believe in order to get me to buy their product. I did not relate to this ad so, for the most part, it did not affect me personally and teach me anything about myself. It did however teach me about the psychology of advertisers; mainly that they make sure to highlight any positive affect their product could have upon your life, without mentioning any negative attributes. Although this is an obvious strategy, it is interesting that in this case, where a multi-thousand dollar watch is being sold, the price of the product is not given. This project has taught me a little about advertising, and has shown me the link between mathematical practices and their non-mathematical uses which exist in the real world.</p><a href="http://www.pheedo.com/click.phdo?x=&u=http%3A%2F%2Fwww.bizcovering.com%2FMarketing-and-Advertising%2FMath-in-Advertising.356537"><img src="http://www.pheedo.com/img.phdo?x=&u=http%3A%2F%2Fwww.bizcovering.com%2FMarketing-and-Advertising%2FMath-in-Advertising.356537" border="0"/></a>]]></description>
<pubDate>Sat, 22 Nov 2008 02:24:07 PST</pubDate></item>
<item>
<title>Office Politics</title>
<link>http://www.bizcovering.com/Employment/Office-Politics.298663</link>
<description>
<![CDATA[<p>In most countries an employer is not allowed to ask a potential employee about their political following or religion.  I have recently been wondering if there would be more work place harmony if employers were allowed to question some basic beliefs of their employees, and hire based on the responses, to co-ordinate more work place harmony.</p>
<p>Where I work there are only a handful of employees.  We have to work side by side and get along fairly well in order for the day to be productive.  For the most part it is one of the better places where I have ever worked because we would all rather get along than fight, however some issues, and differences of opinions, come to the front at social events such as the "Staff Christmas Party".</p>
<p>For a few days following these events some feathers remain ruffled but we go back to getting along very shortly.  I am well aware, however that in some work places the staff are  not so tolerant of each others beliefs.  In fact in some places they form up into sides based on political opinion or religion.</p>
<p>If people work together, they will be more productive if they want to help each other, rather than harbor any feeling of hatred or wanting the other person to look bad.</p>
<p><img src="http://images.stanzapub.com/readers/2008/10/15/watercooler_1.jpg" alt="" /><br /><a href="http://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/commons/7/71/Watercooler.jpg" target="_blank">image source</a></p>
<p>What are your employees talking about or fighting over when they gather at the water cooler?</p>
<p>Not everyone is passionate about politics or has strong political views, but for those that do, their opinions are more than just political ones.  If you support a party that is high on supporting environmental causes, chances are you are too.  Therefore you are not going to want to be working with a bunch of people who drive Hummers two blocks to work, and who are generally wasteful people.  If you support a political party that believes wealth should be shared equally among the people, you are not going to want to work with people who think that rich people deserve more or are more important than everyone else.  You get the picture.<br /><br />People cannot help the way they believe, or how they feel on certain issues pertaining to everyday life.  Those issues are then put forth into our political views.  This goes hand in hand with how we think in our daily lives.  Most of us have friends with similar views.</p>
<p>Again, having co-workers who get along is very important to the running of any business, particularly a small business where people are often working along side of one another in, what should be, a co-operative manner.  <br /><br />While maybe it is illegal to ask a person what there political views are, and illegal to hire based on this, it might be something we should be aware of when staffing.  Similar minded people will get along better.  People of opposing views might just try to sabotage each other, and thereby hurt the company in the long run.</p><a href="http://www.pheedo.com/click.phdo?x=&u=http%3A%2F%2Fwww.bizcovering.com%2FEmployment%2FOffice-Politics.298663"><img src="http://www.pheedo.com/img.phdo?x=&u=http%3A%2F%2Fwww.bizcovering.com%2FEmployment%2FOffice-Politics.298663" border="0"/></a>]]></description>
<pubDate>Wed, 15 Oct 2008 11:39:44 PST</pubDate></item>
<item>
<title>247 Online Marketing Words You Must Know Now 2</title>
<link>http://www.bizcovering.com/Marketing-and-Advertising/247-Online-Marketing-Words-You-Must-Know-Now-2.228163</link>
<description>
<![CDATA[<p>Here's part 2 of the minicourse 247 online marketing words you must know now!</p>
<p>You may have noticed that the world of internet marketing has a language of its own.</p>
<p>You may be familiar with the terms but you don't really know how important they are or how to use them in the proper way for your best interest.</p>
<p>You even might not be familiar with them at all.</p>
<p>It's a shame! Marketing nowadays is a necessity in every field.</p>
<p>These marketing words are used a lot all over the internet and it is every important that you have some understanding of what they mean.</p>
<p>And since I know all about these words and language, I am going to help you understand the reality and nature of these top used marketing words.</p>
<p>Today I am going to list the next 22 words of the top 247 marketing words you have to know about now!</p>
<ol>
<li> Back end: it is a system designed to generate an additional income after the sale is made. For most marketers this is where the most of there is made. </li>
<li> Banner Ad: an online ad that links to the website you want to promote or send traffic to. It is a popular method of advertising because the banner is small in size and easily created. It uses images and animation which are more appealing to click on. </li>
<li> Banner Exchange: these are websites that display advertisers' ad banners for credit points. When you see the banner of another advertiser and click it, you gain credit points which allow you to put your banner ad as well to be seen. Other advertisers click on your banner ad to get more credit points and so on. </li>
<li> Blog: it is a website where entries are made like a journal. Any one can have a blog. You can go to blogger.com and start creating your own blog right now. You can link all your sites there for more traffic and recognition. </li>
<li> Bloggers: the ones who use and create blogs</li>
<li> Bmp: it is a Microsoft image format called bitmap. Bmp is the extension of bitmap image files. </li>
<li> Bookmark: it is a utility in any web browser to save the websites you find interesting for revisiting and later viewing</li>
<li> Branding: it is a very important utility to all online marketers. It establishes the company identity. The brand is the symbol of the company, product or service you are promoting. </li>
<li> Butterfly marketing: a term that became widely spread and is also known as viral marketing. It uses affiliate marketing with list building to provide ultimate results to marketing. </li>
<li> Cache: it is the stored websites by your browser after you viewed them for easy returning to these websites if you choose to visit them again without bookmarking</li>
<li> Sometimes you have to delete this cache to be able to view the new things happened on these websites! </li>
<li> Camtasia: great utility software that captures screen images. It is used mainly in how to pages to teach people how to do something that can be illustrated in pictures or even videos with voice recording at the same time. </li>
<li> Clickbank: company that distributes digital products and runs an affiliate program. Anyone can join and get paid by selling their products like e-books or by referring people to become clickbank affiliates. </li>
<li> Content: this is anything found on the website like text, pictures, videos, audios, etc. for bloggers, content is very important because the words used in it are their gate to be viewed and found on search engines. </li>
<li> Contextual advertising: ads that are related to the content of the site or blog. If your content is about houses the ad will be about house buying. </li>
<li> Conversion rate: it is the percentage of visitors that become potential buyers or sales</li>
<li> If 1 out of 20 visitors to your selling site bought the product then your conversion rate is 5%</li>
<li> Cookies: small harmless files that websites put in your browser to track their visitors</li>
<li> Cpanel: it is web hosting control panel. It allows webmasters to add scripts and pages to their websites easily. </li>
<li> CPC: cost per click </li>
<li> CPA: cost per action </li>
<li> CPM: cost per thousand impressions. If you paid $1000 to buy 20000 banner impression then your CPM is $50. </li>
</ol><a href="http://www.pheedo.com/click.phdo?x=&u=http%3A%2F%2Fwww.bizcovering.com%2FMarketing-and-Advertising%2F247-Online-Marketing-Words-You-Must-Know-Now-2.228163"><img src="http://www.pheedo.com/img.phdo?x=&u=http%3A%2F%2Fwww.bizcovering.com%2FMarketing-and-Advertising%2F247-Online-Marketing-Words-You-Must-Know-Now-2.228163" border="0"/></a>]]></description>
<pubDate>Tue, 26 Aug 2008 07:32:14 PST</pubDate></item>
<item>
<title>247 Online Marketing Words You Must Know Now!</title>
<link>http://www.bizcovering.com/Marketing-and-Advertising/247-Online-Marketing-Words-You-Must-Know-Now.225977</link>
<description>
<![CDATA[<p>You may have noticed that the world of internet marketing has a language of its own.</p>
<p>You may be familiar with the terms but you don't really know how important they are or how to use them in the proper way for your best interest.</p>
<p>You even might not be familiar with them at all.</p>
<p>It's a shame! Marketing nowadays is a necessity in every field.</p>
<p>These marketing words are used a lot all over the internet and it is every important that you have some understanding of what they mean.</p>
<p>And since I know all about these words and language, I am going to help you understand the reality and nature of these top used marketing words.</p>
<p>Today I am going to list for you the top 247 marketing words you have to know about now!</p>
<ol>
<li> Ad Copy: it is a form written to persuade the potential client to do some certain action and usually uses phrases like &amp;ldquo;click the ad&amp;rdquo; or &amp;ldquo;buy now&amp;rdquo;</li>
<li> Ad tracker: a software or script designed to track the amount of traffic to your ad</li>
<li> Adsense: Google ad service that allows websites and blogs owners to gain revenue by placing these ads in their sites. Though it sounds promising, Google regulations are very tricky and they can close your account for no reasons! </li>
<li> Adwords: another Google ad service but for advertisers. When you choose to advertise with Google adwords, your ads will appear next to search engine results on the right.</li>
<li> It is expensive since the rate of pay-per-click on these ads is from $0.10 to several dollars! </li>
<li> Affiliate: it is the same as &amp;ldquo;associate&amp;rdquo; or &amp;ldquo;partner&amp;rdquo;. When you become an affiliate to a program you are awarded by cash or advertising depending on your agreement with that program every time you bring a visitor to that program. </li>
<li> Affiliate Link: When you sig up with any program like that you are given a url to your link which you promote and every one that signs under you becomes your referral and you are then awarded by the program</li>
<li> AIM: AOL instant messenger which is free to download</li>
<li> Alexa: this is a website that ranks any website popularity based of course on the number of visitors to the website</li>
<li> Anchor Text: it is the text of the hyperlink. When you see a link that you should click, the text written on the link is the anchor text. For example, &amp;ldquo;click here&amp;rdquo; text is found on a link that you should click. The words &amp;ldquo;click here&amp;rdquo; are the anchor text. </li>
<li> Applet: a small application that is written in java and displayed on your web browser. It usually contains animation, audio or video. </li>
<li> Attachment: file(s) you can attach to e-mails like pictures, doc. Files, excel files, etc. </li>
<li> Article Marketing: it is the process of writing articles in order to send traffic to certain websites as a sort of a promotion. These websites of course sell something in which you need to get people to see what you are selling. </li>
<li> Autoresponder: it is an automated e-mail sender. It sends pre-entered e-mails to a list of e-mails you put in the autoresponder. </li>
<li> Avatar: a graphic icon that represents you on chat rooms, message boards and instant messaging (IM) programs</li>
</ol><a href="http://www.pheedo.com/click.phdo?x=&u=http%3A%2F%2Fwww.bizcovering.com%2FMarketing-and-Advertising%2F247-Online-Marketing-Words-You-Must-Know-Now.225977"><img src="http://www.pheedo.com/img.phdo?x=&u=http%3A%2F%2Fwww.bizcovering.com%2FMarketing-and-Advertising%2F247-Online-Marketing-Words-You-Must-Know-Now.225977" border="0"/></a>]]></description>
<pubDate>Mon, 25 Aug 2008 02:22:25 PST</pubDate></item>
<item>
<title>Tips to Start Your Own Business</title>
<link>http://www.bizcovering.com/Small-Business/Tips-to-Start-Your-Own-Business.213797</link>
<description>
<![CDATA[<p>All Business Ventures require a proper and carefully calculated Business Plan. Read some below listed Points for a <a href="http://www.forbes.com/smallbusiness/2004/07/12/cx_sr_0712smallbizintro.html" target="_blank"><u>Small Business Setup</u></a>:</p>
<p>&amp;nbsp;</p>
<ul>
<li>Are Your Creative? If so, decide on a Brand Name</li>
<li>Web-Marketing</li>
<li>Generate Income by Selling-</li>
<li>Promote, Promote and Promote<strong> </strong></li>
</ul>
<h3>Remember this may not change for a long time so decide your brand name carefully and stick to it.</h3>
<p>&amp;nbsp;Set aside an estimated amount for Printing Business Cards, Business logos and Office Stationary Requirements. You may want to hunt the market for Small On-sale or Cheaper Stationary and Printing shops to begin with but always make sure you invest in good quality as this represents your professionalism.&amp;nbsp;</p>
<h3>Begin by marketing your Business on line with a business website.</h3>
<p>If you gain traffic there, then surely you will have customers wanting to know more. See how you can sell on line before you go ahead and actually open Office.</p>
<h3>Remember this is your Business so you may have to delve in Sales.</h3>
<p>Try setting timescales for your sales, similar to commission targets for Sales Executives. Even a small revenue can fire-start your Business so get involved in direct sales.</p>
<h3>Let the word out, pass information along to friends, neighbors and family.</h3>
<p>If you have a blog, announce it there and keep your Audience regularly updated with events, promotions. Refer Testimonials from your Clients and users of your products.</p>
<h3>Know your market Value</h3>
<p>Now that your Business is up and Running, stay in control. Many Business fail due to lack of proper planning and unclear perspectives. Keep up to date by reading about your industry. Bookmark some <a href="http://www.msnbc.msn.com/id/3032072/" target="_blank"><u>business news</u></a> and <a href="http://smallbusiness.yahoo.com/r-article-a-41095-m-1-sc-12-ten_tips_for_new_small_businesses-i" target="_blank"><u>Business Tips</u></a> sites.</p>
<p>&amp;nbsp;</p>
<p>&amp;nbsp;</p><a href="http://www.pheedo.com/click.phdo?x=&u=http%3A%2F%2Fwww.bizcovering.com%2FSmall-Business%2FTips-to-Start-Your-Own-Business.213797"><img src="http://www.pheedo.com/img.phdo?x=&u=http%3A%2F%2Fwww.bizcovering.com%2FSmall-Business%2FTips-to-Start-Your-Own-Business.213797" border="0"/></a>]]></description>
<pubDate>Sun, 17 Aug 2008 08:48:22 PST</pubDate></item>
<item>
<title>Manage a Youth Organization</title>
<link>http://www.bizcovering.com/Management/Manage-a-Youth-Organization.128209</link>
<description>
<![CDATA[<p>Every activity should be well-organized. Companies,banks,institutions,department-stores and other enterprises have to be organized properly and carefully if they want to survive. In order to achieve their goals, every organization needs a good and professional leader.</p>
 
<p>How can we be a good organizer or professional person then? The common answer is that we have to study hard. This answer is True. However, schools, colleges, or universities just give us theories. The application of which has to be observed, searched and practiced in society. One thing we have to remember is that what we find in reality is often different from what is said or discussed in the theory. Only a small part of the subjects we have learned at school can be well applied. Besides, our relationship to society also plays an important role, Leadership, for instance, is important to get success. So, to be a good organizer we must study, get training and leadeship all at once.</p>
 
<p>The problem is where we can get leadership training. Youth organizations are the ones which are suitable for us.</p>
 
<p>Why? I think a youth organization is very suitable for us. diffrent from the one in the classroom, the situation in organization is more realistic. We will also get several advantages, when we participate in the organization:</p>
 <ol>
<li>We will get more friends.</li>
<li>We can improve and apply our abilities and talents.</li>
<li>We will gain more self-confidence.</li>
<li>We can broaden our views and knowledge.</li>
<li>We have opportunities to develop and correct our personality and behavior.</li>
<li>We learn how to hold responsibility.</li>
<li>We learn how to solve the problems, cope with interpersonal problems and cooperate with a lot of people.</li>
<li>And finally, we can get valuable experiences, and even many more.</li>
</ol> 
<p>Those advantages can be reached through discussions,exchanging ideas, running activities together, and so on.</p>
 
<p>How far we will get the adventages depends on what type of organizations we join, and how we make use of the chances.</p>
 
<p>Many people think that joining an organization is disadvantageous because they will wate a lot of time and energy. In may opinion, this statement is not fully correct. If we can manage our time well, that problem will never arise. Moreover, if we choose a suitable organization, we will be more motivated to study. Sometimes our activities to train us to face problems in the society. we must care about the world outside the classroom. We have to learn from the society as our success to a certain degree,will have close such a relationship. People will not value ability if we don't apply it into practice.</p>
 
<p>Well,that is what I think. It maybe worthwhile to discuss the question: Why do we join an organization? For example we can start with sharing our experiences and opinions.</p><a href="http://www.pheedo.com/click.phdo?x=&u=http%3A%2F%2Fwww.bizcovering.com%2FManagement%2FManage-a-Youth-Organization.128209"><img src="http://www.pheedo.com/img.phdo?x=&u=http%3A%2F%2Fwww.bizcovering.com%2FManagement%2FManage-a-Youth-Organization.128209" border="0"/></a>]]></description>
<pubDate>Thu, 22 May 2008 05:42:43 PST</pubDate></item>
<item>
<title>Zimbabwe's Economic Challenges Promote Entrepreneurship</title>
<link>http://www.bizcovering.com/Business-and-Society/Zimbabwes-Economic-Challenges-Promote-Entrepreneurship.64747</link>
<description>
<![CDATA[<p>Faced with rising unemployment levels orchestrated by the current economic climate, many Zimbabweans have taken up the challenge of reviving the economy through setting up business enterprises.</p>
 <p>This new drive has seen small to medium scale industries being created and run by ordinary Zimbabweans who previously did not dream of owning or running a business. While five years ago, people would jostle for jobs at factories in Bulawayo, Zimbabwe's second city and industrial hub, these days the slogan is: "Create your own job" and contribute to national development.</p>
 <p>Government figures show that about 80 percent of the Zimbabwean economy is in the hands of small businesses, i.e. small farmers, small miners, small producers, small exporters and small marketers. All of these people combined form a big part of the economy. </p>
 <p>The small to medium enterprises (SME) sector has grown to become one of the biggest employers in Zimbabwe, particularly at a time when employment within the formal sector has shrunk rapidly.</p>
 <p>According to estimates from the Confederation of Zimbabwe Industries, at least 70 percent of Zimbabwe's working population is employed in the informal sector. This figure could rise as more and more people are developing their entrepreneurial skills through vocational training so as to be able to venture into product-manufacturing businesses.</p>
 <p>Two young men in Bulawayo have demonstrated that building a successful business enterprise does not require one to have a Masters in Business Administration or plenty of capital, but sheer determination and focus. <br />The two, Derrick Dube and Easy Kazeze both aged 24, have been running a successful artifacts business along the Bulawayo-Beitbridge road, one of the country's busiest highways.</p>
 <p>What started off as a hobby for the two young men in their backyards has turned out to be a vibrant business enterprise, earning their families much-needed income. Made from a special type of reed grass, their household range of products e.g. bar stools, hanging chairs, ornaments etc which are in demand locally are now finding their way onto the export market.</p>
 <p>My success is a result of hard work and determination after years of suffering. I could not get a job because I didn't have any qualifications, in the end a friend convinced me to venture into business and become my own employer, said Kazeze.</p>
 <p>This was not the case for his business partner, Dube, who was retrenched from a brick-making firm three years ago, when the company streamlined its activities following a dip in the construction business. "I toiled for years, trying to find another job, but companies were not employing anymore".</p>
 <p>"I never really thought I could do something for myself, starting a business was never in my mind. I loved art so much and during my spare time, I used to make small ornaments which I displayed in my home. I never thought, this could be a talent that I could explore and develop," said Dube. Now, with a monthly turnover of around Z$55 million, the business has given their families a lifeline.</p>
 <p>What makes their business enjoy so much success is the uniqueness of their products and the artistic flair exhibited in their designs. "We receive a lot of orders from visitors to the country, this way our products have attracted a lot of foreign customers. We get orders from as far as South Africa, Zambia and Botswana, this has helped us a lot," added Dube.</p>
 <p>The business has also received a lot of support from locals who order products in bulk for sale throughout the country. The business has enabled the owners to buy equipment such as welding machines and it has also generated employment for three youths. "Our wish now is to expand our business and diversify our product range, but to do that we need capital," said Kazeze. </p>
 <p>This is one of the major hurdles faced by local entrepreneurs trying to develop their businesses. The majority of small businesses are hamstrung by a lack of adequate financing, particularly in the absence of collateral security.</p>
 <p>Government has however promised that it will do everything in its power to nurture and grow the small to medium scale sector. It has so far this year allocated a total of $55.4 billion in loan facilities to support small to medium enterprises. More than 3000 jobs have been created and a further 2000 sustained.</p>
 <p>Addressing mourners at the national heroes acre recently, President Mugabe said "apart from a revolving fund for SME"s, Government was determined to establish bigger markets for locally produced goods'. He said, in order to equip business owners with the requisite skills that would enable them operate effectively; training in various business management programs was in progress in all the country's provinces.</p><a href="http://www.pheedo.com/click.phdo?x=&u=http%3A%2F%2Fwww.bizcovering.com%2FBusiness-and-Society%2FZimbabwes-Economic-Challenges-Promote-Entrepreneurship.64747"><img src="http://www.pheedo.com/img.phdo?x=&u=http%3A%2F%2Fwww.bizcovering.com%2FBusiness-and-Society%2FZimbabwes-Economic-Challenges-Promote-Entrepreneurship.64747" border="0"/></a>]]></description>
<pubDate>Thu, 06 Dec 2007 07:34:53 PST</pubDate></item>
<item>
<title>Botswana to Become New Diamond Trading Centre</title>
<link>http://www.bizcovering.com/Business-and-Society/Botswana-to-Become-New-Diamond-Trading-Centre.60040</link>
<description>
<![CDATA[<p>Botswana has expressed confidence that it is ready to become the next diamond trading hub. The country is aiming to cut and polish $500 million dollars worth of diamonds every year between now and 2010. </p>
     <p>However, questions have been raised concerning the potential of the emerging industry since the country does not appear to have adequate infrastructure already in place; it is also likely to face strong competition from already established centres such as Antwerp and London.</p>
     <p>Botswana is the source of about 25 percent of the $13.1 billion worth of rough diamonds produced in the world each year, diamonds account for about 70 percent of the country's export earnings. </p>
     <p>Marking the celebrations of the 25th anniversary of the Jwaneng mine which is the world's richest diamond mine, President Festus Mogae revealed that his country wants to become a diamond trading centre, comparable to the likes of Antwerp.</p>

     <h3>President Festus Mogae</h3>
     

     <h3>Kago Moshashane</h3>

     <p>He noted that "out of the 16 cutting and polishing diamond companies which have been issued with licenses, only six of them are operational. He said companies have cutting and polishing facilities in places such as India and Israel, there is a need to include Botswana as one of the viable centers". He added that "while the country cared about its own diamond industry, it also cared about the international diamond industry". </p>
     <p>Speaking on his return from the Antwerp Diamond Conference held in Belgium recently, the Deputy Permanent Secretary for the Ministry of Minerals, Energy and Water Resources "Kago Moshashane" supported the view that Botswana has the potential to become the next diamond cutting and polishing centre.</p>
     <p>He said that "the country is going to trade at least US$500 million of its aggregated supply and that the balance will continue to be channeled to established markets such as Antwerp".</p>
     
     
     <p>He expressed confidence saying that "as for our ability and capacity, the massive infrastructure that we are putting in place and the training of personnel that the country is carrying out speaks for itself. Other centres have their own well established markets for jewelery, it is unreasonable for any of them to feel threatened by the emergence of Botswana as an additional diamond trading hub".</p><a href="http://www.pheedo.com/click.phdo?x=&u=http%3A%2F%2Fwww.bizcovering.com%2FBusiness-and-Society%2FBotswana-to-Become-New-Diamond-Trading-Centre.60040"><img src="http://www.pheedo.com/img.phdo?x=&u=http%3A%2F%2Fwww.bizcovering.com%2FBusiness-and-Society%2FBotswana-to-Become-New-Diamond-Trading-Centre.60040" border="0"/></a>]]></description>
<pubDate>Mon, 19 Nov 2007 08:55:26 PST</pubDate></item>
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<title>Transformation of Attitudes Towards Cane in Cameroon</title>
<link>http://www.bizcovering.com/Business-and-Society/Transformation-of-Attitudes-Towards-Cane-in-Cameroon.59985</link>
<description>
<![CDATA[<p>Decades ago, articles made out of cane were considered to be the preserve of the poor and less privileged. Over time the attitude of Cameroonians has changed, these days such items have an added value attached to them due to the view that many designs portray or incorporate traditional African heritage.</p>
 
 <p>It is now commonplace to find items made from cane in a wealthy persons home and also in restaurants, hotels and places of attraction. </p>
 
 <p>Cane is derived from a type of palm plant, the stem of the plant is solid, strong and flexible, this makes it ideal for use in the manufacture of furniture, baskets and other woven products. It is easy to work with, requiring only simple tools and low-cost machines. Eighteen species of the plant can be found in Cameroon, however only three species have the required diameter, fibre wall thickness and density of fibrous tissue that make them most suitable for commercial use.	</p>
 
 <p>The increased demand for cane based products is proving to be a boon, many jobless Cameroonians are turning to the trade as a means of earning a living. </p>
 
 <p>In Douala, those who design such products are clustered in different parts of the town, their goods are clearly displayed to attract customers. </p>
 
 <p>24 year old Nwanawasa Paul has been involved in the trade for the past 7 years, he was previously jobless and got involved as a means of trying to earn a living, he soon discovered he had a natural ability with cane. We caught up with him to find out a bit more.</p>
 
 <p>AG: What do you manufacture and what are the materials and processes you use?</p>
 
 <p>NP: I produce chairs (sets), tables, baskets, cupboards and other general items, I use cane/ rattan to construct them. Larger sections of cane are used to create the frame and for strength while smaller pieces are interwoven to provide definition and beauty. </p>
 
 <p>I use steam to bend the cane rather than a blowgun as it reduces discoloration and tarnishing through scorch marks. I then bleach the finished products to obtain uniformity of colour, this is especially important when cane from different species are used to make a product. I sometimes dip the cane in kerosene; this provides protection against insect attack. When I use varnish I apply it in two coats, I usually sand lightly before adding the second coat, this ensures an even and long-lasting finish.</p>
 
 <p>AG: What is the profile of your customers?</p>
 
 <p>NP: It varies, I have customers from all walks of life, both private and trade e.g. wholesalers and exporters, although exporters are the most difficult to come by.</p>
 
 <p>AG: Why are exporters difficult to reach?</p>
 
 <p>NP: The truth is I am not very well connected so I find it difficult to reach them. </p>
 
 <p>AG: What other difficulties do you face?</p>
 
 <p>NP: Rain, during the rainy season my activities are greatly interrupted. I can come up against material scarcity due to the fact that suppliers are also hindered by the rains.</p>
 
 <p>AG: Do you work in collaboration with others?</p>
 
 <p>NP: Yes, I need the expertise of a tailor who sews cushions, I also engage with carpenters who supply me with wooden components that I incorporate into some of my designs.</p>
 
 <p>AG: Is business very good?</p>
 
 <p>NP: The products I produce sell at between 2.5 - 500 pounds. I only know if I have made a profit at the end of the year when I prepare my yearly accounts.</p>
 
 <p>AG: What is your goal?</p>
 
 <p>NP: There are many. I dream of having a big factory that supplies wholesalers and exporters. In order to expand my business, I plan to seek the financial assistance of government and other organisations that promote small and medium size enterprises.</p>
 
 <p>AG: Thank you for sharing your experiences with us.</p>
 
 <p>In Cameroon, cane is considered an "open-access" resource that can be collected from forests, there are very few laws regulating its harvest and state control often does not adequately monitor its exploitation. Increasing urban growth has led to developments that are encroaching on forests and high demand for cane products has led to the threat of over-harvesting of the resource; this can lead to poor quality cane stems being used and thus inconsistent quality of products. </p>
 
 <p>Cane is important at many levels in local communities, its exploitation through the cutting and trading of raw cane for transformation into goods, can occupy up to about 35 per cent of a households time. As it can be harvested all year round, it provides valuable cash income for much needed school fees and medical expenses</p>
 
 <p>Cane is one of the most important non-timber forest products (NTFPs) in Cameroon. The gathering, selling and processing of it has many advantages and can help forest dependent people lift themselves from the margines of poverty.</p><a href="http://www.pheedo.com/click.phdo?x=&u=http%3A%2F%2Fwww.bizcovering.com%2FBusiness-and-Society%2FTransformation-of-Attitudes-Towards-Cane-in-Cameroon.59985"><img src="http://www.pheedo.com/img.phdo?x=&u=http%3A%2F%2Fwww.bizcovering.com%2FBusiness-and-Society%2FTransformation-of-Attitudes-Towards-Cane-in-Cameroon.59985" border="0"/></a>]]></description>
<pubDate>Mon, 19 Nov 2007 07:01:10 PST</pubDate></item>
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<title>Family and Friends Don’t Always Give Good Business Advice</title>
<link>http://www.bizcovering.com/Education-and-Training/Family-and-Friends-Dont-Always-Give-Good-Business-Advice.26990</link>
<description>
<![CDATA[<p>Simply looking at the average citizen who is heavy in debt, fearful of their jobs and watch more television than they do in other activities should give you some idea about whether or not these close friends and family will be a help or hindrance to you. </p>
 
 <p>Friends and family have a great influence on our lives. Our memories of them are filled with good and bad times. Most importantly, they are seen as people who have a general interest in how well or poor we are doing. To earn a good wage, to graduate from college, your first career, your last sporting events have been wonderful experiences for these people. However, if you want to succeed in business you must know who and where to get your business advice. </p>
 
 <p>To categorize the uses of each person you meet is not mean spirited or cold. It simply means that you know where the strengths of each individual lie. For example, you wouldn't go to your accountant friend for advice on how to fix your car. Likewise, you wouldn't go to your bankrupt friend for advice on how to increase your financial suaveness. </p>
 
 <p>Some friends are great “drinking buddies”, some family members are always willing to offer a helping hand, others are people you can play a game of golf with while others are strictly for emotional support. Each of these people has a place in your life that is both special and precious. A few of them might even be willing to invest in your endeavors if only to see you succeed. </p>
 
 <p>Friends and family are people you would normally go to when you need emotional support and fun companionship. A few of these people may actually be the one's who have knowledge about your business but this is few and far between. If you desire to succeed in business you need to associate with people who know something about business. These are the people who have experienced the same problems that you have experienced and are likely to give great advice. </p>
 
 <p>People who succeed make a habit out of allocating some time to people who think like they do. Simply by spending time with other business professionals you are able to accumulate large tracks of knowledge and progressive attitudes. Many of these business men or women are willing to give you their time and mentorship without anything in return. They like to help you succeed and take great joy in being part of your success.</p>
 
 <p>Despite a lack of knowledge, friends and family may not be so excited about your business. They may secretly resent your successes, due to their own shortcomings, or they may be fearful about you getting hurt or financial ruined. Business is about taking risk, and failure is a regular part of the game. To win at the game of business you will have to be fearless in your approach and willing to invest your time and money. This requires constant support, knowledge and commitment which family and friends are not always willing or able to give. </p><a href="http://www.pheedo.com/click.phdo?x=&u=http%3A%2F%2Fwww.bizcovering.com%2FEducation-and-Training%2FFamily-and-Friends-Dont-Always-Give-Good-Business-Advice.26990"><img src="http://www.pheedo.com/img.phdo?x=&u=http%3A%2F%2Fwww.bizcovering.com%2FEducation-and-Training%2FFamily-and-Friends-Dont-Always-Give-Good-Business-Advice.26990" border="0"/></a>]]></description>
<pubDate>Tue, 22 May 2007 02:20:15 PST</pubDate></item>
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